all over the world

/ Schnitzer Motorsport’s milestones.

Read more

The company is founded

/ Two brothers, one car.

In 1963 brothers Josef and Herbert Schnitzer buy a damaged Fiat, which they restore and race themselves. This marks the birth of motorsport in the Schnitzer household.


Title number one

/ Victory for Josef Schnitzer.

Josef Schnitzer brings the first title to Freilassing, winning the German Touring Car Championship in a BMW 2000ti he has tuned himself. At this point, nobody has a clue that this will be the first of a unique collection of titles.


Schnitzer conquers
the hills of Europe

/ Ernst Furtmayr’s triumphal procession begins.

1968 marks the start of the Schnitzer team’s dominance in the European Hillclimb Championship. Ernst Furtmayr claims his first overall victory in the tried-and-tested BMW 2002ti. Two more titles are to follow in 1969 and 1970.


Fourth title in a row

/ Brun takes over where Furtmayr left off.

Switzerland’s Walter Brun, who will go on to make motorsport history, presents the Freilassing-based Schnitzer team with its fourth title in a row in the European Hillclimb Championship. He wins in a BMW 2.8 CS.


European Formula 2

/ Successful foray into single-seater racing.

Frenchman Jacques Laffite wins the European Formula 2 Championship in a Martini Formula 2 powered by a Schnitzer engine, thus helping Schnitzer to its maiden title in single-seater racing.


Triumph and tragedy

/ A huge loss.

Whilst 1978 may be successful from a sporting point of view, it is to prove a tragic year for Schnitzer. The outstanding performances of new driver Harald Ertl in the BMW 320 turbo, which ultimately result in him winning the German Racing Championship, are overshadowed by a tragic accident involving Josef Schnitzer, who dies from the injuries sustained in a crash, through no fault of his own, whilst travelling to Zolder.


European Touring Car

/ On the European throne.

Schnitzer Motorsport wins the European Touring Car Championship with driver Dieter Quester at the wheel of a BMW 635 CSi Group A. After the titles in the European Hillclimb Championship and as engine supplier in Formula 2, this is the sixth European title in the company’s history.


Victory in the Ardennes

/ Marathon debut.

In 1985 the Schnitzer team claims its first ever win at a 24-hour race with the BMW 635 CSi. The trio of Roberto Ravaglia, Gerhard Berger and Marc Surer wins the classic in Spa-Francorchamps, finishing ahead of the second Schnitzer car, which is driven by Dieter Quester, Markus Oestreich and Johnny Cecotto.


First title for Ravaglia

/ Start of an era.

Schnitzer Motorsport wins the European Championship for the second time after 1983 – and with the tried-and-tested BMW 635 CSi Group A. At the wheel this time is Italian Roberto Ravaglia. This first triumph together is to be followed by many more victories over the coming years.


World Touring Car

/ Debut victory.

Schnitzer’s Italian driver Roberto Ravaglia wins the inaugural World Touring Car Championship in a BMW M3. Ravaglia remains the titleholder for 18 years, until the next official World Touring Car Championship is held in 2005.


Ravaglia makes it
a hat-trick

/ European Champion again.

After winning the European Championship in 1986 and the World Championship in 1987, Roberto Ravaglia picks up the third tile in a row for Schnitzer Motorsport in the European Touring Car Championship. The success comes at the wheel of a BMW M3 Group A.


Maiden DTM title
– and more

/ Two titles for Schnitzer.

1989 is a very special year for the Schnitzer team, as it wins two titles in one season for the first time. Roberto Ravaglia wins the DTM in his rookie season, while Johnny Cecotto triumphs in the Italian Touring Car Championship.


Strike five for Ravaglia

/ The Italian Job.

After winning a World Championship title, two European Championships and the DTM, Roberto Ravaglia picks up his fifth title in a row in the Italian Touring Car Championship. An impressive record, which makes the Italian one of the most successful touring car drivers in the world.


British Touring Car

/ Winkelhock conquers England.

Following BMW’s withdrawal from the DTM, Schnitzer goes in search of a new challenge – and finds it in the British Touring Car Championship. Joachim Winkelhock, known as “Smoking Joe”, wins the championship at the first attempt to present the Schnitzer team with yet another national title.


FIA Asia-Pacific
Touring Car Champion

/ A new adventure.

New season, new championship, new continent, but familiar winners. Our team wins the FIA Asia-Pacific Touring Car Championship with Joachim Winkelhock.


Johnny Cecotto is top dog
in the STW

/ Back in Germany.

In 1998, another touring car icon wins the German ADAC Super Touring Car Championship in a Schnitzer BMW, in the form of Johnny Cecotto. With the ITC and DTM no longer in existence, the STW is the pinnacle of touring car racing in Germany in 1998.


Victory in Le Mans

/ In BMW Motorsport colours.

Operating as a BMW Motorsport works team, Schnitzer wins the legendary Le Mans 24 Hours with a BMW V12 LMR driven by Joachim Winkelhock, Pier-Luigi Martini and Yannick Dalmas. This remains one of the team from Freilassing’s greatest successes.


American Le Mans Series

/ Winning in America.

Even on the other side of the Atlantic, Schnitzer is the team to beat: Jörg Müller wins the GT title in the American Le Mans Series in a BMW M3 GTR fielded by the Schnitzer team. His team-mate J.J. Lehto is runner-up. The Team title also returns to Upper Bavaria.


Race for the
WTCC title

/ Schnitzer in the World Touring Car Championship.

Between 2005 and 2009, BMW Team Schnitzer wins 25 races in the FIA World Touring Car Championship with the BMW 320i and the BMW 320si WTCC. However, despite being in contention right down to the grand finale in Macau on several occasions, there is to be no further World Championship title.


DTM Champion
at first time of asking

/ Back with a bang.

As in 1989 with Roberto Ravaglia, BMW Team Schnitzer wins the title in its first year back in the DTM, courtesy of Bruno Spengler. The outfit from Freilassing is also victorious in the Team Championship.